Criminal Defense for Domestic Battery Cases in West Virginia
What is Domestic Battery and How Can Zerbe & Pence Help?
According to West Virginia law, an assault or battery case rises to a domestic nature when carried out against a member of the family or household. These individuals can include current or former spouses, current or former intimate partners, parents of the accused’s child, or any other relative by blood, marriage, or adoption. When assault and battery rise to a domestic level, the consequences also rise to general assault instead of simple assault. To learn about the difference between assault and battery, click here to check out our page on assault. When accused of domestic battery or assault, call the lawyer at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC. With over 15 years of criminal defense experience, our team fights hard to defend our clients’ rights in court. Give us a call today at (304) 345-2728 or contact us online to set up a free consultation with our domestic battery lawyer.
Consequences of a Domestic Battery Conviction in West Virginia
Domestic assault and domestic battery convictions can carry stiff consequences depending on the situation. Domestic assault carries up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $100, which raises to 30 days to six months and a fine of up to $500 for a second offense. Domestic battery sentences include up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $500. For a second offense, the jail sentence is between 60 days and a year, while fines can reach up to $1000. Any third offense of domestic assault or domestic battery gets raised to a felony, which carries a one to five year prison sentence and/or a fine of up to $2,500. The criminal defense lawyer at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC, can represent anyone accused of domestic battery and fight for the best results in court. Give us a call today for more information on how to take the first step.