First DUI Defense Attorney at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC
Representation for Fines After a First DUI Charge Near Charleston, WV
To speak with a first DUI defense attorney at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC, contact us today in Charleston, WV. Attorney David Pence and his staff know the law and they work hard to protect our clients’ rights in court. For more information on representation for a first DUI charge, give our law office a call today.
First-Time DUI Conviction Penalties in West Virginia
For drivers convicted of DUI for the first time, it typically carries a misdemeanor sentence and fine. For a DUI charge due to a BAC between .08 and .14 percent, the infraction will typically carry a fine between $100 and $500, plus court costs.
A DUI charge with a BAC at .15 percent or greater increases the charge to an aggravated DUI. This carries a fine between $100 and $1000, plus court costs. To fight for the best outcomes with DUI fines, call the experienced DUI lawyer at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC today.
Ignition Interlocks and Jail Time Stemming from a First DUI
A first DUI charge typically requires the installation of an ignition interlock in a driver’s vehicle for a minimum of 125 days. This device prevents drivers from starting their vehicle without first proving their sobriety for that timespan. In terms of jail time, a first DUI offense typically does not include a jail sentence.
However, when a charge rises to an aggravated level due to higher BAC, the minimum sentence includes between 48 hours and six months in jail. Attorney David Pence represents first-time DUI offenders to keep them out of jail. He holds law enforcement accountable when they have violated our clients’ rights. Give us a call today for more information on first-time DUI representation.
License Revocation Representation Throughout West Virginia
Losing a driver’s license can cause a host of issues for persons charged with their first DUI. Not having the ability to drive can create transportation issues getting to and from work, with added financial consequences. A first-time offense typically includes a license revocation of 15 to 45 days with an ignition interlock agreement, or six months without one.
Refusing a breathalyzer test carries a one year license suspension, or 45 days with an ignition interlock installation. Some other burdens with license revocation include having to pay a license reinstatement fee and prove minimum auto insurance liability coverage before getting a license returned. Contact Zerbe & Pence, PLLC in Charleston, WV today to consult with our skilled attorney on first DUI defense.