Underage DUI Defense Lawyer in Charleston, WV
What Causes a DUI for an Underage Driver?
Many West Virginians know that for a person over 21 years old to receive a DUI charge, their BAC must exceed .08 percent. However, this is different for drivers under the age of 21. West Virginia has a “zero tolerance” law when it comes to drinking and driving by minors. This means that any measurable amount of alcohol in their blood can trigger a DUI. Underage DUI convictions can greatly affect minors, from reputation damage to future employers and prospective colleges finding out. The best way to handle an underage DUI charge is to talk to the experienced DUI lawyer at Zerbe & Pence, PLLC. Call attorney David Pence today at (304) 345-2728 to secure defense for an underage DUI charge. Clients can also contact us online for more information or to set up a free consultation.
Fines and Jail Time Resulting from an Underage DUI Charge
Much like receiving a DUI as an adult, fines and jail sentences can occur when convicted. For a first time DUI for a minor, the fine is between $25 and $100, which carries a 60-day license suspension. A second DUI as a minor results in a fine between $100 and $500, and also comes with a 24-hour jail sentence and a license revocation either for a year, or until the driver’s 21st birthday. These situations all require ignition interlock installation. Additionally, if a minor is arrested for a DUI with a BAC of .08 percent or greater, they face the same penalties as an adult driver. For more questions about underage DUI charges, call Zerbe & Pence, PLLC in Charleston.
Serving Underage Drivers Throughout the State of West Virginia
If you are an underage driver or the parent of an underage driver who has experienced a DUI charge in West Virginia, call Zerbe & Pence, PLLC. Attorney David Pence has the experience necessary to protect his clients’ rights in a court of law, and find the relevant facts in every case. Our clients come to us from areas like Huntington, Beckley, and Oak Hill, and a number of other areas throughout West Virginia. We offer free consultations at our office on Capitol Street in Charleston, to provide easy access to our valued clients. Give us a call today to find out how to take the first step toward a better result in underage DUI cases.